The Dee Howard Legacy

Honors & Awards

1960 - Recognized as "Pace Setter" by Business/Commercial Aviation Magazine.

1966 - Awarded the FAA Aircraft Mechanics Safety Award for the development of devices to improve aircraft safety.

1970-1972 - Member of the Board of Directors of the National Business Aviation Association(NBAA).

1988 - Received the Queen's Award from Great Britain for Technological Achievement for his contribution to the development of the Rolls Royce Tay Jet Aircraft Engine.

1993 - Received the Meritorious Service Award from the National Business Aircraft Association for a lifetime of contributions to the advancement of aviation.

1996 - Received the Master Entrepreneur of the Year Award in San Antonio, Texas, presented by Ernst and Young.

2000 - Inducted into the Texas Aviation Hall of Fame.

2002 - Received the prestigious Charles Taylor Master Mechanic's Award from the Federal Aviation Administration, for more than fifty years of dedicated service. Charles Taylor, for whom the award is named, built and maintained engines for the Wright brothers' first powered flight.

2002 - At the National Business Aircraft Association Convention in Orlando Florida, Dee Howard and Etienne Fage were given credit for advancing the state of the art in jet engine thrust reverser design, by the Nordam Company, honoring them with the Nordam Dee Howard/Etienne Fage Scholarship Award given annually to Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University of Daytona Beach Florida.

2002 - Dee Howard was honored to speak at the Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University as the guest speaker of the Legends in Aviation and Aerospace Distinguished Speaker Series.

2004 - Inducted into the San Antonio Science and Technology (SATAI) Hall of Fame.

2010 - Recognized as past Honoree at 7th Annual Living Legends of Aviation Awards.

2013 - Dee Howard Fellowship in Mechanical Engineering established in the College of Engineering at The University of Texas at San Antonio

2013 - Dedication of Dee Howard Way at the San Antonio International Airport.

2016 - Inducted into the San Antonio Aviation and Aerospace Hall of Fame


Member of the Society of Automotive Engineers.

We never sell or rent your information.